Interior Trends Autumn 2016

Here are my predictions, based on my fair share of interiors magazines and articles..

No 1. Terracotta

There was definitely time when I was about 10 (so.. around the year 2000?) when borders were still in and terracotta was a big hit as a wall colour. With an increasing focus on texture, terracotta is making a big come back in the form of tiles. Of course the orange floor isn’t a new invention, but twinned with modern features and a minimalist feel they give warmth to a blank Scandinavian canvas.

terracotta-kitchen-tiles
Source

No 2. Narrow Tiles

Subway tiles have been around for a while, but this season sees them getting longer, narrower and often installed in a herringbone pattern. It does seem like it would be a pain in the arse to lay them that way, especially when you get to a straight edge and have to trim them all at an angle, but my god they’re pretty. The unusual pattern, whilst creating a whitewash background, also gives an impression of luxury and intention.

herringbone-tiles
Source

No 3. Cork

When I first saw cork popping up I thought of the notice boards crafted by middle aged wino’s. However, upon seeing it used as it has been below I can definitely get on board. Of course it helps if you have a nice collection of curios and and a knack for displaying them in a thrown together way. I’m not sure how effective this would be in the long run though, looking at the pock-marked notice board behind me in the office I would think it would need replacing occasionally.

cork-wall
Source

No 4. Round Mirrors

Preferably big round statement mirrors in the hallway, with a bench or console table in front. Move your succulents out of their terrariums and display them in front with some mismatched candles, jobs a good’un. Heaven forbid you leave any keys or takeaway menus lying around though, we’re not heathens.

round-mirror
Source

I also think watercolour wallpapers are on their way up but i’ll leave them for another time.

Happy Wednesday!

HB.

Leave a comment